Blues Win Provincial 'CC' Championships

Rate this item
(0 votes)
464122273Bradford Blues Atom Selects won the Ontario Ball Hockey Association's Minor Provincial "CC" Championship, held July 16-18 in Oshawa. The annual Championship attracts over 150 clubs from across Ontario, from Tyke to Jr. age players, for a weekend of ball hockey.

Game 1, Innisfil – 8, Bradford Blues -1.

Game 2, Bradford Blues – 2, Penetang – 0, as the team stepped up their defensive effort – and held the opposition to 7 goals against, in its 4 remaining games.

Game 3, Bradford Blues – 4, Oshawa – 1.

"CC" Semi-Final, Bradford Blues – 9, Elgin-Middlesex – 3.

"CC" Championship Final, Bradford Blues – 4, West Hill (Scarborough) – 3.

329Bradford went up 2-0 in the 1st, but West Hill tied it up before the period ended. Bradford then restored the 2-goal lead in the final period, for a 4-2 score. West Hill added a marker, but Bradford held the line, with solid defence and stellar goaltending, for the win – and the club's 2nd-ever Provincial OBHA title.

Congrats to the team – Josh Battistella, Brett Young, Doug Smith, Terry Smith, Curtis Dubeau, Spencer Dubeau, Joey Furgiuele, Brian Escott, Jesse Campbell, Nick Walton and Hunter Dupuis, goaltenders Nicholas Button and Jose Velasquez, coaches Jack Dubeau and Greg Fines, team trainers Wayne Young and Brian Escott Sr.

Coaches Dubeau and Fines also coached the only other Bradford team to ever win an OBHA Minor Provincial Championship, the 2004 Bradford Bulldogs Tyke "B" Minor Provincial Champs.

Last modified onTuesday, 29 December 2015 22:13